Mercilus, Harding, Hayes headline Illini Defensive All-Decade Team


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (WCIA) — The Illini unveiled the best of the best to play defense for the orange and blue this decade, headlined by five NFL draft picks.

Lineman – Whitney Mercilus* (first-team All-America; Hendricks Award winner in 2011)
Lineman – Cory Liuget (second-team All-Big Ten in 2010)
Lineman – Dawuane Smoot (third-team All-Big Ten in 2016)
Lineman – Bobby Roundtree (honorable mention All-Big Ten in 2018)
Linebacker – Dele Harding (first-team All-Big Ten; third-team All-America in 2019)
Linebacker – Martez Wilson (first-team All-Big Ten in 2010)
Linebacker – Jonathan Brown (second-team All-Big Ten in 2011 & ’13)
Back – Tavon Wilson* (honorable mention All-Big Ten in 2010 & ’11)
Back – Clayton Fejedelem (second-team All-Big Ten in 2015)
Back – Terry Hawthorne (honorable mention in 2011 & ’12)
Back – Stanley Green (honorable mention in 2017 & ’19)
Punter – Blake Hayes* (Big Ten Punter of the Year and first-team All-Big Ten in 2019)
Punt Returner – V’Angelo Bentley* (honorable mention All-Big Ten in 2014 & ’15)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.