Small named B1G Coach of the Year


CHAMPAIGN (WCIA) — Illinois men’s golf coach Mike Small is likely looking for a bigger trophy case. The longtime Illini was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year on Tuesday, the fifth straight year he’s won the award and 11th time in his career.

Small has led Illinois to five-straight Big Ten titles and 10 championships in the last 11 years. The Danville native has also helped his players win nine consecutive conference individual titles as well. In addition to Small’s award, four Illini were named to the All-Conference teams.


First Team

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Second Team 
Bryan Baumgarten, Illinois
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Giovanni Tadiotto, Illinois

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.