Illini name six captains for 2021 season


CHAMPAIGN (WCIA) — Earlier Thursday the Illini voted on their new team captains, electing offensive linemen Vederian Lowe and Doug Kramer, linebackers Jake Hansen and Owen Carney, cornerback Tony Adams, and punter Blake Hayes for the leadership role.

Kramer, Hansen, and Hayes are the first ever Illini to be named captains three times.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.