Street gang members sentenced for violence, murder



PEORIA, Ill. (WCIA) — Officials said 13 members of the Peoria street gang, “Bomb Squad,” were sentenced over the past two weeks.

The members were originally convicted in December 2019 for “conspiring under the RICO statute…to commit murder, attempted murder, arson, drug trafficking and gun violence to protect itself, its members, and associates from rival gangs and to protect the standing and reputation of the gang from 2013 to 2018.” Evidence showed their involvement in four murders, over 20 shootings and two residential arson incidents.

Officials said some of the victims of these crimes included an 11-year-old girl that was hit by a bullet that went through the front of the home in which she was sleeping. She was hurt by the bullet. A Bradley University freshman was also a victim. Officials said she was a bystander in April 2018 when a bullet went through the head of a rival gang member and killed her.

Officials said the names and sentences of these gang members are as follows:

Eugene HaywoodLife plus 10 years
Torieuanno White40 years
Ezra Johnson37 years
Lloyd Dotson35 years
Keith Gregory30 years
Jahlin Wilson29 years
Lance Washington28 years
Raevaughn Rogers20 years
Kenwan Crowe20 years
Mytrez Flora20 years
Kentrevion Watkins19 years
Andre Neal-Ford14 years
Sherman Williams12 1/2 years

Officials said each of the defendants has been in the custody of the U.S. Marshals Services since charges were returned by a grand jury in June 2018. Each person will be sent to the federal Bureau of Prisons to serve their sentence.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.