8 area school districts get library grant money

Local News

CENTRAL ILLINOIS (WCIA) — Eight area school districts are getting more than $18,000 total in grants from the Illinois Secretary of State’s School Library Grant program. State Senator Scott Bennett (D-Champaign) made the announcement Tuesday.

“Fostering early reading and literacy skills in our youth is necessary for a child’s future success,” says Bennett. “I’m thrilled to announce these grants, as they are critical for central Illinois school libraries to continue to support learning and the development of literacy, creativity and critical thinking.”

Schools receiving school library grants:
Champaign CUSD #4
Danville Community Consolidated School District #118
Urbana School District #116
Rantoul City Schools district #137
Westville Community Unit School District #2
Salt Fork School District #512
Oakwood Community Unit School District #76
Rantoul Township High School District 193

The grants, issued by the Illinois State Library are designed to help public schools offer more library books and materials to students.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.