IDPH updates list of counties at warning levels for COVID-19


This scanning electron microscope image shows SARS-CoV-2 (yellow)—also known as 2019-nCoV, the virus that causes COVID-19—isolated from a patient in the U.S., emerging from the surface of cells (pink) cultured in the lab. Credit: NIAID-RML

ILLINOIS (WCIA) — The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) updated their list of counties that are at a warning level for COVID-19.

Some central Illinois counties on the list include Macon, Christian and DeWitt counties. The full list of counties includes:

  • Bond
  • Boone
  • Cass
  • Christian
  • Clinton
  • Crawford
  • DeWitt
  • Fayette
  • Grundy
  • Hamilton
  • Macon
  • Menard
  • Peoria
  • Putnam
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Winnebago

IDPH said there are several reasons why these counties are on the warning list for COVID-19. However, some of the common factors between these counties includes university/college parties and sports teams, large gatherings, bars/clubs, long-term care facilities, etc..

When it comes to determining if a county is at a warning level, IDPH uses many factors. They said some of those include:

  • New cases per 100,000 people (more than 50 new cases per 100,000 people)
  • Weekly test positivity (7-day test positivity rate is above 8%)
  • Number of deaths (increases over 20% for 2 consecutive weeks)

For a full list of indicating factors, click here.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.